Assignment 3 – Blog Task 3

For my topic, I have found it hard to find artists who are focusing on the same topic as myself. I have found many artist focusing on animal rights and deforestation, but none that focus on the introduction of predators resulting in the endangerment of species. Therefore I have had to divide my research into to categories; research of the actual project, and design research to what I want my poster to be.

After starting with Andreas Lie as my artist I would try gain ideas off, I went on a bit of tangent in my work. My work itself differs quite considerably from his work in my concepts.

Here are my first concepts:

Poster Concept 1

In this concept I use a Kea as my  main image. Trying to create a simplistic style to it I went for a Sans serif font and made the font very small to lose focus. The four red bars are a symbolic gesture of the introduced mammals which are restricting the destroying the numbers of birds of species like the Kea. I interpreted the very own ‘New Zealand Green’ slogan to create a personal attachment to the poster, as New Zealanders are very proud to be called and ‘green’ country.

Poster Concept 2

In this concept I used the Takahe as my main image another species of endangered native bird in New Zealand which has less than 200 individuals remaining. Having well known birds is I believe important in my project because I want the audience to be able to relate to the poster. The tear drops is depicting the sadness of the loss of our native birds.Poster Concept 3

This concept was very simplistic, possibly too simplistic and therefore can be improved in my final concepts. I wanted to use the Tui because the fame behind the bird and also the natural beauty that the bird holds. I placed the bird on the right side of the poster so that it is going from right to left, which creates a feeling of wrongness due our minds reading from left to right. Symbolising we are going in the wrong direction in terms of protecting our native birds.

Key Terms Defined:

agency: The means of being in action. (Harcourt, Mifflin. 2009)

citizenship: The character of a member of society viewed by their contribution to their society. (Random House Dictionary. 2016)

social responsibility: Defined by the society itself it is what is deemed important for you as a member of the society your required contribution to your community.

transformative practices: It is the improvement of self set out by yourself and possibly others in order to improve. It is not something done easily, you must break habit first.

 

Works Cited:

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. 2011. by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company.

Random House Dictionary, Random House, Inc. 2016.

Leave a Reply

